Traveling in your car can be an amazing experience; however, for your infant children, it can be a very dangerous situation if proper steps are not taken, which is why you need to follow the state rules regarding car seats.
Car seat laws in Utah require all children below the age of 8 to be restrained in a car seat. At the same time, there is not a lot of information regarding ages, heights, and weights.
Generally, if your child is between 20 to 35 pounds, they should be in a rear-facing car seat.
Beyond this, to 65 pounds, they should be in a forward-facing car seat, and after 65 pounds, till the child is 4 feet and 9 inches, they need to be in a booster seat.
These ranges are very broad, which is why I will be talking about these rules in this article to help you all out, so make sure you read till the end.
Table of Contents
- 1 Utah Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Utah
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Utah
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Utah?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Utah?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Utah
- 7 Utah Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Utah
- 9 Conclusion
Utah Car Seat Requirements By Ages
There is not a lot of official information regarding this.
However, your children need to be in a car seat until they are at least eight years of age, and this can go up to 13 years, depending on their height.
I will try my best to talk about the rules you must follow per age, but note that not all of this is official and mostly according to general ranges.
1 Year Old
From the birth of your child, including the age of 1, they must be seated in a rear-facing car seat for protection. Rear-facing car seats are the safest way of traveling for infant children.
2 Year Old
Most states will allow your children to move up to a car seat that is forward-facing once they are two years old, but many will also argue that they should be at least above 20 pounds if they want to use this car seat.
3 Year Old
It is recommended to use the rear face seat for a longer time. Your child should be at the proper time to use a forward-facing car seat.
If given a choice between the two, it is recommended to choose the rear-facing car seat for added safety.
4 Year Old
Once your child reaches four years old, unless they are still below 20 pounds, which is highly unlikely, you will have to place them in a forward-facing car seat, which you will use until they exceed the limits of the forward-facing car seat, which should be around 65 pounds.
5 Year Old
Five-year-olds generally follow the same rules as four-year-olds with the added fact that they are more likely to move to a booster seat which will be the case due to their height and weight.
6 Year Old
By six years old, your child should be very comfortable in a booster seat and should be looking to move towards using the seat belts of the car.
Your child can start to use the seat belts without the seat once they are above 4 feet and 9 inches in height but will have to wait until they are eight years old.
7 – 9 Year Old
Between the ages of 7 and 9, your child will be required to use a car seat until they are the age of 8, but once they reach this stage, they can move towards using the car’s seat belts.
Again you must ensure they are at least 4 feet and 9 inches in height.
10 Year Old
The age of 10 is a very comfortable age for your child as they are no longer required to use a booster seat and, unless they are very short, will not need to either. Instead, they can simply use the seat belts inside the car.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Utah
The heights and weights for car seats in Utah are not specific for the most part, so the most that you can do is follow a given set of ranges that will determine which car seat your child will sit in.
Below 20 pounds, your child needs to be in a rear-facing car seat.
Once they cross 20 pounds, they can start using a forward-facing car seat. They will need to use this car seat until they grout-grow its height and weight.
Once the child outgrows the weight of the forward-facing car seat, they must switch to a booster seat which they must use until they are both at the age of 8 and at least 4 feet and 9 inches tall.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Utah
Like the height and weight requirements that the state officials set, there is not much to consider when considering the different seats you need to manage when traveling with your child.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
A rear-facing car seat must be securely positioned and placed inside the car.
You must ensure that the child is perfectly comfortable and seated inside and that your child uses it if they are below 20 pounds.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
The main rule you will have to take care of when having your child use a car seat that is forward-facing is to ensure that it includes a harness system.
Other than that, your child must use it until they exceed its limits.
3. Booster Seat
You must make sure that your booster seat is perfectly positioned so that it can raise the child to the height required for them to easily use the lap and shoulder seat belts.
They must use it until they are eight years old and at least 4 feet and 9 inches tall.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Utah?
The state of Utah is very clear when it comes to when your child can sit in the front seat of the car.
The age at which it is possible is 13 years, and below this age, it will be illegal for your child to sit in the front.
For this reason, you should also ensure that your child has proper experience using seat belts, as, at this stage, they should be old enough to use them.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Utah?
If you intentionally or recklessly leave your child in the car while in Utah, you will be committing a Class C misdemeanor, especially if the car is still on.
This is regardless of whether you are on public or private property. To avoid this, you need to ensure that there are no conditions present that can risk the child’s health.
You should also make sure that there is someone older than nine years old looking after the child.
While there is no mention of any fine, considering this is a Class C misdemeanor, you should expect to pay a substantial amount.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Utah
Just like most rules, there is no clear law regarding car seats and taxis in the state of Utah.
It is better to be safe than sorry, which is why you should use booster seats when traveling in a taxi.
Utah Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
The state of Utah has made it clear that if your car has been in a minor car crash, you are not required to replace your car seat.
If your car seat has taken substantial damage, it is better to replace it yourself as the government will not provide you with a new one.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Utah
Uber car seat laws mimic the same laws set for taxis in that there is no clear mention. Just like for taxis, it is recommended that you use a booster seat to avoid any issues.
Utah car seat laws are very hard to read as there is not a lot to go on and there are not that many definitive requirements to follow regarding the heights, weights, and ages of the children.
Many of the rules which are specific to car seats are also not elaborated on, which makes things very difficult to follow, but hopefully, since you have read this article, you should have a firm understanding of how you can do your best to follow the vague laws that the state of Utah has provided and provide a secure car ride for your child.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.