Car seats are mainly used for the protection of your child while you are driving on the road. It keeps a child secured in place and rides safely as well as comfortably.
However, there are certain rules that everyone should follow in the state of Alaska while driving with a child in a car seat so there can be fewer chances of accidents and injuries.
Car seat laws in Alaska state that the child should be seated rear-facing as long as they can and are only allowed to shift to the booster seat when they reach the age of 8, the height is 4’9 inches, and the weight is around 65 pounds.
Do keep in mind that even if your child grows fast, it does not mean you need to make the shift right away. Do it when the child is ready.
Now to help you understand better, I have listed some important rules and regulations related to these laws that you should know about so you can make the right decision and keep your child safe for as long as possible.
Make sure to read the article until the very end.
Table of Contents
- 1 Alaska Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Alaska
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Alaska
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Alaska?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Alaska?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Alaska
- 7 Alaska Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Alaska
- 9 Conclusion
Alaska Car Seat Requirements By Ages
Here I will be listing down the car seat requirements by age in the state of Alaska.
As you may know, most car seats are allowed for children from birth until the age of 8.
But there are still some other rules you need to remember before putting your child in a certain car seat.
Read this section carefully and remember to follow them all the time.
1 Year Old
If your child is already at the age of 1, then you must know that they are allowed to sit forward-facing.
Remember that your child should also be above 20 pounds to sit properly. If your child is under 20 pounds, then you are only allowed to let him/her sit rear-facing.
2 Year Old
Now, if your child is two years old, you should know that he/she can easily sit forward-facing. The rules for a 2-year-old child are the same as for a 1-year-old.
It is worth mentioning that even if your child is two years old, but the weight is less than 20 pounds, and the height also does not meet the requirements, he/she has to sit rear-facing.
3 Year Old
At three, many children would start to fit perfectly in the car seat.
Due to a child’s physical growth, many manufacturers of car seats advise parents to only secure their child on a forward-facing car seat.
Moreover, keep in mind that most forward-facing car seats can be adjusted, so you will have to make some modifications to make them comfortable for your child.
4 Year Old
Do keep in mind that if your child is over 20 pounds but less than five years old, then she/she should be seated on a forward-facing car seat.
However, if your child outgrows from the car seat, they are allowed to use a booster seat.
5 Year Old
If your child is five years old, they have already met the requirements for a forward-facing booster car seat.
However, many experts say that the child’s height should be less than 4’9 inches, and the weight should also be less than 65 pounds.
6 Year Old
If your child is six years old, you must keep them on the booster seat until they outgrow it. At this age, the child will be familiarized with the seat and can sit comfortably.
7 – 9 Year-Old
For a child between the ages of 7 and 8, you must know that parents are only allowed to let them sit on a booster seat.
However, they can only make the shift if the child outgrows the booster seat.
At the age of 9, things start to be different. Your child might be too big for the seat, which means they will have to start sitting on the car seat with an adult seat belt on.
Do remember that according to many experts, it is advised to keep the child in the car seat for as long as possible because it is the safest way to travel.
10 Year Old
As you know by now, when a child reaches the age of 8 and a certain height and weight, it is no longer necessary for them to sit on a booster seat.
This is because the child will have to start using an adult seat belt but only be allowed to sit in the back seat.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Alaska
Regarding the car seat weight requirements in Alaska, you must know that your child is allowed to sit on the booster seat if he/she is over 4’9.
A minimum height should be 40 inches and weighs around 40 pounds.
Other than that, the child’s weight should be more than 22 pounds so they can sit forward-facing.
It is worth mentioning that many manufacturers now build booster seats that allow a child to be four years old.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Alaska
Here I will be discussing different types of car seats that your child is allowed to sit on, but you must do that according to the rules set by the state of Alaska to be on the safer side, so keep reading and make sure you follow them as they have been set.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
Children under one year or weighing around 20 lbs must be strapped in a car seat, which should be rear-facing.
According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, children should be rear-faced until they are two years old.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
Alaska law requires children under the age of 5 to be securely restrained in a forward-facing car seat if they are one year or older and weigh 20 lbs or more.
Many manufacturers and professionals advocate using forward-facing car seats during this period of a child’s physical growth.
3. Booster Seat
According to Alaska, the law requires kids to start using booster seats when they outgrow the forward-facing car seat.
They can also use it if they are over the age of four but less than the age of eight. Other than that, the height should also be less than 4’9 inches and less than 65 pounds.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Alaska?
There is no recognition of age in Alaskan law. Specialists advise that your child is allowed to sit in the front seat once the car seat belt is securely fastened.
You should know that the seat belt must be buckled securely and fit the child perfectly. Keep in mind that the seat belt should be across the upper thighs.
Make sure it is not on the stomach for a secure fit.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Alaska?
According to the laws in the state of Alaska, it is not illegal for a parent to leave their child in a car alone. However, you must know that it is not recommended at all.
Leaving your child unattended, especially a child less than six years old, can be risky because many things can go wrong.
I would advise that at least one adult stay in the vehicle to supervise the child. Parents’ main priority should be the safety and health of their child over all other considerations.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Alaska
When traveling with your child, according to the Alaskan law, you must have a car seat when traveling in a taxi. This is because you must follow the child passenger safety laws.
However, you must know that a taxi operator cannot ensure that your child will be seated in a suitable seat.
It’s possible that the seat’s expiration date, recall rate as well as cleanliness aren’t in your favor.
Alaska Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
When you get involved in an accident while your child is with you in a car seat, you must know that it is mandated for everyone to replace the car seat after the accident, even if there is no noticeable harm done to the car seat.
It may have been weakened to the point that it won’t protect your child as well in a future accident.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Alaska
If you are traveling in an Uber, then according to the state law and if your child is under eight years as well as under 5’7 inches, you’ll need to make sure you’ve got the right child restraint for the job.
Do keep in mind that the Uber driver is not responsible for providing you with a car seat so make sure you fake it with you whenever you travel.
Well, I now hope that after reading this article, you are pretty confident and understand all the Alaska car seat laws.
The rules and regulations set in the state of Alaska must be followed all the time so your child can be safe as well as comfortable.
The laws state the accurate age, height as well as weight limit, so you must make sure to match it with your child.
It is also highly advisable to take your time with the shifting from one car seat to another and wait until your child is ready for a change, or else it can cause a lot of disturbance while you travel.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.