Montana Car Seat Laws & Requirements

TaxiHack is reader-supported. This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

Though Montana would have multiple places you would want to visit with your family, it is also important to note that you do not get in trouble with the law when you finally set out to visit any sightseeing location you were planning to.

Car seat laws in Montana have been created for you to keep your family safe, especially your children, in an unforeseen accident.

These rules are as follows. From 1-5, the child shall use a rear-facing seat with a weight limit of 40-60 pounds.

As they exceed 60 pounds, they shall be shifted to a front-facing seat by the ages of 4-6 and between 40-80 pounds. They can lose all restraints and sit in a regular seat by 13 years of age.

This may seem confusing and a little difficult at first but we have gone through all the necessary information.

This article has all the things you need to be well educated regarding the safety of your child and the laws surrounding the state.

Montana Car Seat Requirements By Ages

Does Montana have a car seat regulation? Read my guide to find out

The seat requirements are mainly for children under 10 in Montana.

However, the rules have been broken down to keep in mind the weight and growth of a child as well.

To easily digest the data provided, the rules have been broken down for you so that it is easy to follow them.

1 Year Old

For one-year-olds, the safest option is selected, which is the rear-facing seat, as it protects the child from all sorts of impacts, even from the impact of an airbag.

2 Year Old

At age 2 in Montana, the child has to continue using the rear-facing seat. They will have to continue to do so until they physically outgrow the seat and can’t fit in.

3 Year Old

After hitting the age of 3, the child shall remain seated in the rear-facing seat as long as they are close to 20 pounds and have not yet outgrown their seat.

4 Year Old

When a child hits the age of 4, things start to change as they can easily move onto a front-facing seat, which shall be used while your child is between 40-80 pounds.

5 Year Old

When they reach the age of 5, they shall continue to use the front-facing booster seat until they exceed the limit of 80 pounds and have outgrown the seat.

6 Year Old

By six years of age, they shall still be seated in a front-facing seat in Montana until they are over 80 pounds and have outgrown 4feet and 9 inches of height.

7 – 9 Year Old

When your child gets to this age bracket, you either have to keep them in the front-facing booster seat or a regular booster seat, depending on their height and weight.

If they exceed 50-80 pounds of weight along with a height of 4 feet and 7 inches, they shall be shifted to a booster seat.

If they do not fulfill the set requirements, they shall continue using the front-facing seat.

10 Year Old

At ten years of age, they shall continue using the regular booster seat until they are taller than 4 feet and 9 inches. Once they exceed that height limit, they can use a normal seat.

Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Montana

When your child is around 20-40 pounds, they shall use the rear-facing seat.

It is also stressed that they should keep on using this seat until they physically outgrow it as it’s the safest option for them.

When they exceed the weight limit of 20-40 and make their way to the 40-80 pound bracket they shall use a front-facing seat in Montana.

As soon as their height starts to increase to 4 feet and 6-7 inches they shall be shifted onto a regular booster seat to keep them upright and slightly safe.

Finally, once they are over 4 feet and 9 inches they shall shift to a regular seat, with a regular seat belt that the car already comes with.

Type Of Car Seat Laws In Montana

Since there are multiple seating arrangements based on the age of children, there are different types of laws surrounding those age brackets in Montana.

Therefore, different rules are to be followed regarding different types of seats, be it rear-facing, front-facing, or even regular booster seats. The law is slightly different.

1. Rear Facing Car Seat

These seats are best suited for children under three and should be used while they are in the weight bracket of 20-40 pounds.

2. Forward Facing Car Seat

These are used when a child is over four and solely makes their way to the 40-80 pounds weight bracket, with a height of 4 feet and 7 inches approximately.

3. Booster Seat

These seats are used after four years of age within 7-9 years when they are in the weight bracket of 40-80 pounds and are approximately 4 feet and 9 inches tall.

When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Montana?

The correct time to let your child sit in the front seat would be after they exceed 13 years of age, according to the law in Montana.

However, keeping your child seated in the rear is recommended as it’s the safest option for them.

What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Montana?

Though there are no clear-cut laws regarding this in Montana, it is undesirable if you were found guilty of this action for leaving your child in the car for even a few minutes.

You shall be charged with risking the health and safety of your child and will be fined.

You might even be sent to a mandatory educational community program, and the punishments will probably get severe if your child is injured.

However, there are no laws within this area of interest as of this time.

Taxi Car Seat Laws In Montana

There are no notable laws regarding car seats and taxis; therefore, to be on the safe side and as law states, you will need to bring your car seat, as you’re not permitted to travel with a child without them being in a car seat.

Taxi drivers will not be responsible for arranging a car seat for your child in Montana; therefore, you need to bring your own.

Montana Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents

Car accidents are extremely undesirable events, and none of us want to be in them in any circumstances as they can be life-threatening.

When it comes to seating laws and crashes in Montana, there are no particular laws set.

However, as previously stated, your child is supposed to be in a car seat regardless of an Uber, taxi, or your private vehicle to ensure the safety of the child and to stay clear from law authorities.

If an accident were to occur, you shall have to replace the seat that y0ur child was on, as it may have collected any sort of damage that could not be visible to the naked eye, and since the safety of your child is the top priority, it should be replaced as soon as possible.

Uber Car Seat Laws In Montana

Since there are no clear laws regarding an Uber in Montana, you will have to arrange a booster seat for your child beforehand, regardless of whether it is rear-facing or front.

The driver or the operator of the vehicle is not supposed to provide it since there are no noteworthy laws created around this area of interest.

Furthermore, in order to ensure a safe journey for your child and to stay out of trouble, you will have to bring it with you as the law for seats still stands regardless of it being an Uber.


Now that you’ve read this article, you are most probably well versed in the idea of Montana car seat laws. You most likely have probably found the answers you were looking for as well.

These rules and regulations have been created to ensure the safety of your child and for you to pay attention to their well-being, therefore are a number of requirements as well as minute details that are supposed to be looked after.

Hopefully after going through this article you would know how to stay out of trouble from the law and not put your child at risk.