It is sometimes extremely scary to see an accident when driving by the road or on a busy highway.
It’s even more frightening knowing a child was involved in it, especially as a parent, and for that reason, I cannot stress the importance of the laws related to car seats to follow so that if you are ever found in a similar situation, your child would be safe from an unfortunate event like that.
Keeping this alarming situation in mind, laws were created to keep kids safe from danger. I’ll be going through car seat laws in Vermont in this article.
In essence, kids under 16 will have to follow these laws, and children under 3 to 4 will use a rear-facing seat, older than four will use a front-facing seat, and over 8-9 years olds will use a booster seat.
I have tried to put everything in a way that would be easily understandable by anyone reading and trying to familiarize themselves with the law and the requirements.
Table of Contents
- 1 Vermont Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Vermont
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Vermont
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Vermont?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Vermont?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Vermont
- 7 Vermont Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Vermont
- 9 Conclusion
Vermont Car Seat Requirements By Ages
The law applies to kids under 16. The requirements are further broken down and simplified as the age increases or decreases.
I have catered to each age individually to the best of my abilities, so you know what seat to use and for what age in Vermont.
1 Year Old
Year olds are extremely weak, they are vulnerable to any sort of damage, and for that reason, they are assigned a rear-facing seating, as it keeps them shielded from damage.
2 Year Old
Two year olds are expected to use the same rear-facing seat since even though they have grown a year, they are still fragile.
3 Year Old
Despite your child getting a year older and turning 3, they will have to use a rear-facing seat in Vermont.
They might have grown emotionally and started to talk more. But they ideally require the same sort of protection until they are over 35 pounds.
4 Year Old
When a child turns 4, the rules start to evolve, they are probably over 35 pounds, and now they will start using a front-facing seat.
5 Year Old
After turning 5, your child will still be required to use a front-facing seat with a safety belt system. They will keep using it until they exceed the weight limit of 40-80 pounds.
6 Year Old
Regardless of your child turning 6, they will use a front-facing seat. You will have to pay more attention to their height and weight now. For them to be able to move to the last seat.
7 – 9 Year Old
As touched upon before, your child will keep on using a front-facing seat, even at the age of 7-8, around nine.
However, they are most likely near the 60-80 pounds bracket and are over or at least 4 feet and 9 inches, in height, and therefore they will now be allowed to use a booster seat.
10 Year Old
Once your child is 10, ensure they are seated comfortably in a booster seat until they are over 80 pounds and above 4 feet and 9 inches.
Once they are over the specified weight, age, and height limit, they will be free to use a normal seat.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Vermont
The majority of these regulations apply to children under the age of 16, but there are specific weight and height requirements.
In Vermont, children under 35 pounds or at that weight must ride in a rear-facing seat, and kids between 35 and 40 pounds must switch to a front-facing seat by the time they are about four years old.
When they are 7 to 9 years old and weigh more than 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds, children must begin using a normal booster seat as long as they are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Vermont
Depending on the method of transportation, a taxi or an Uber, and the kinds of seats you might use for your child, different restrictions are put into effect.
And consequently, different seats are used based on age, weight, and height.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
It is said that all infants must ride in this seat, starting as early as the ride back home from the hospital.
These are the best for their protection and shielding them from any kind of impact. They are to be used until your child is over 35 pounds.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
This seat comes with a harness system. The belts are to be adjusted as the child grows for their comfort. This type of seat is best used for four-year-olds above 35 pounds.
3. Booster Seat
These seats boost the height of the child seated, giving them an extra few inches to get used to the seating style of a normal seat in the car.
They are best used by children below 4 feet and 9 inches, around 60-80 pounds of weight.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Vermont?
Since the law in Vermont does not specify a specific age, the general recommendation for the safety of your child is 13 years of age.
Once they are over this age, they will be allowed to sit in front with you, but as long as they are under, they will sit in the rear.
I also came across recommendations to keep them in the back regardless of turning 13, as they are safest there.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Vermont?
Currently, there are no laws in Vermont upon leaving your child. However, I believe that as children are extremely vulnerable, they should never be left alone.
They can injure themselves or others, and staying in a hot car can cause death due to heat strokes.
And generally speaking, if a child was found alone in the car under visible stress or in need of help, the person responsible shall most likely be prosecuted under the law and punished based on the damage caused.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Vermont
Taxis must have a child seat before traveling in them with your kid. The law has not specified who shall provide a seat.
Therefore you are supposed to call the service and get it arranged or just bring the seat that your child usually uses in the car you travel in.
Vermont Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
The law protects children by being assigned different seats based on their age and requirements such as height and weight.
Therefore, the law should be followed to keep those fragile beings safe.
However, in a crash, the law does not tell who shall change the seat. Hence the guardian or parent should change it for their child.
In an accident, some seats could get out without a scratch, but you must change them as soon as you can as they could be damaged in a way that you might not be aware of.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Vermont
The law in Vermont states that buses are the only vehicles exempt from the law of car seats.
Therefore car-sharing services are supposed to follow the law as any other vehicle transportation service.
A parent or guardian can check on the application for a car seat before ordering an Uber, as some states have a car seat available on their Uber.
But if your area does not have an Uber with the seat you want for your child, simply take your own and inform the driver beforehand.
So that it can be placed there easily without any confusion or delay in your busy schedule.
I hope I could help you understand and wrap your head around the laws and regulations set by the state. I relate to them being a little tricky and hard to remember.
However, I believe that the Vermont car seat laws have only been established to keep your child as safe as they can be kept because we never know when an accident can occur that could be fatal for your child.
These seats protect them as compared to them not being in one; hence it is every parent’s duty to get one for their child.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.