You might be wondering if your car will look better with tinted windows?
I am sure tinted windows can add a charm to your vehicle but this is not a smart choice if you are currently living in Maine.
You need to note that Maine tint restrictions prevent you from using tint film on your windows whenever you wish.
Maine’s car tinting legislation was first presented in the year 1989. Being sure of where you reside discusses how dark or reflective the automobile window tint must be.
Maine window tint laws state that the windshield must utilize non-reflective tint more than the AS-1 line and should be on top of the 5 inches of the windshield.
Whereas other windows must be tinted differently for different vehicles, so read this article to find out.
To find out more in detail about the laws in Maine, it will be best for you to stick around until the very end.
Please also read the frequently asked questions since I’ve included the most important ones that many people are curious about.
Table of Contents
- 1 How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In Maine?
- 2 Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- 3 Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In Maine
- 4 Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
- 5 Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In Maine
- 6 Cost Of Car Window Tint In Maine
- 7 Frequently Asked Questions
- 8 Conclusion
How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In Maine?
The probability of visible light that departs through the automobile’s window is measured by the VLT (Visible Light Transmission).
The window tint will become darker as the VLT falls. Furthermore, a greater VLT indicates that additional light will easily pass through the windows.
Here I will be mentioning the darkness limit on the passengers and a multi-purpose vehicle, so be sure to read until the end.
If you tint the glasses by 75 percent, 75 percent of the light will pass through. And with a 5 percent tint, the inner part of the automobile will be significantly darker.
Tint Darkness Limit For SUVs And Vans
Starting with the tint darkness limit for those who own an SUV or a van, you must read this to decide whether you should or shouldn’t tint your vehicle’s windows.
The tint darkness limit for SUVs and vans’ windshields must use non-reflective tint over the manufacturer’s AS-1 line and be on the top five inches of the windshield.
On the other hand, the front side windows should permit more than 35 percent of light inside the vehicle through the windows.
Lastly, the backside windows and the rear windows can use any darkness level, which provides extra privacy.
Tint Darkness Limit For Sedans
If you own a sedan, reading this section is crucial for you. Here I will discuss the time darkness limit you need to follow on sedans.
Remember that the VLT for sedans is different from the SUVs and vans, so follow accordingly.
1. Front Windshield
Coming on to the front windshield, you must know that they should use non-reflective tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or make sure that it is on top of the five inches of the windshield only.
2. Front Seat Side Windows
The front side windows of your sedan should let more than 35 percent of light inside the vehicle through the window.
3. Front Rear Window
Furthermore, the rear windows should also let more than 35 percent of light inside the window.
It is also worth mentioning that there will be no constraints on the car with outside rearview mirrors.
4. Back Seat Side Windows
Lastly, the rear seat side mirrors are the same as the rear windows.
It should let more than 35 percent light, and there are no constraints if there are rearview mirrors outside of the vehicle on each side.
Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- This is also another important factor to look into when you plan on tinting your vehicle’s windows. One of the best things about tint is that it can reflect the sunlight coming inside, reducing the chances of the vehicle heating too much.
- The front side windows of the sedans are not allowed to use metallic as well mirrored finish. That goes the same for SUVs and vans, but you should avoid a shiny finish.
- The backside windows of sedans also cannot use metallic and mirrored finish. However, you should avoid using mirrored finish only on SUVs and vans.
- There are said to be no limitations on tint colors in Maine, so that you can use any color available.
Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In Maine
You must take a couple of steps to obtain a medical exemption for window tinting in Maine.
To begin, determine whether your window tint qualifies as equipment.
If that’s the case, you’ll have to show that the color is required for your condition and safety.
After that, you must apply to the DHHS, also known as the Department of Health and Human Services. Last but not least, you must also pay the required fees.
It is also worth mentioning that the Chief of the Maine Police will award you with the certificate of exemption only if you have a certain medical condition.
Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
There is no need for you to get a certified sticker to identify the legal tinting of your vehicle’s windows in Maine.
Just make sure you have the certification for the medical condition you have. You will have to show it to the officers if you get stopped by them while driving.
Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In Maine
- Besides the usual laws that you must follow in Maine, there are also some additional rules and regulations that you should know about.
- If your vehicle has tinted back-side windows, dual-side mirrors are necessary for Maine.
- You can use any color tint in Maine as they are not illegal.
- Make sure the film producers provide you with a certified film that is legal to use.
- There is no need to have stickers showing illegal tinting done in Maine.
- The chief of state police in mine will present you with a medical exemption certificate if one has a serious condition.
- In Maine, breaching the window tinting legislation is punishable by a traffic offense with a minimum punishment of $100.
- You can only use bright white lights in the state of Maine for your headlights.
- Yellow fog lights are also allowed to be used in Maine.
These are some additional rules and regulations, so make sure to follow them. Do check them regularly, though, as they can fluctuate a lot.
Cost Of Car Window Tint In Maine
The cost of car window tints in Maine will vary depending on the type of tinting you plan to get.
If you get a basic classic film for your vehicle, especially for a sedan, the cost will be around $150.
However, if you get a more high-quality film, such as the ceramic tint, then the cost can be around $400.
It is also worth mentioning that if you do it yourself, which is not that difficult, it can cost you around $100 only.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is 15% Tint Legal In Maine?
You are only allowed to use non-reflective tint for the windshield. 15% tint is not legal in the state of Maine.
More than 35% of light should get inside the vehicle through the front side windows. But any darkness can be used on the backside and rear windows.
Q2. Are 5% Tints Legal In Maine?
No, 5% tints are not legal in Maine. The lower the percentage is for a tint, the darker it will get. It can be extremely difficult to see through, especially at night.
Q3. Is Limo Tint Legal In Maine?
No, Limo tint is not legal in Maine. The shade is extremely dark and can make it hard to see through. Plus, you can get in trouble for such a tint.
Q4. Can I Get Pulled Over For Tint In Maine?
In Maine, you can be pulled over for window tint, and vehicle tint rules are strictly required across the state.
Your car is authorized to have a certain degree of VLT or visible light transmission.
Q5. How Much Is A Tint Ticket In Maine?
You might be charged $100 if your vehicle is tinted in the wrong shade. This is why it is best to check the state’s laws so you do not end up in trouble.
The main objective of this article was to educate you on the Maine tint laws so that if you do consider tinting, you can do it the right way.
It will surely make the appearance of your vehicle much better and provide you with a little extra privacy as well.
However, do keep in mind that you should only tint according to what is legal.
If you have serious health problems, it will be best to get a certificate and keep it with you all the time to show it to cops if they ever stop.
I have also mentioned some additional rules and regulations, so make sure to follow those.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.