As parents, you have a lot on your plate. You need to ensure you can get them from A to B in the safest way possible.
This is particularly important if you live in Louisiana, where car seating laws are quite stringent.
Car seat laws in Louisiana require that all children under age 8 be in a child restraint system (CRS) while riding in a motor vehicle.
They also require all children under 18 to use a booster seat until they reach the upper height limit for their CRS, which is 80 inches.
Don’t worry; I’ve got you covered. I’ll take you through everything you need to know about car seating laws.
Table of Contents
- 1 Louisiana Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Louisiana
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Louisiana
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Louisiana?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Louisiana?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Louisiana
- 7 Louisiana Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Louisiana
- 9 Conclusion
Louisiana Car Seat Requirements By Ages
The age of your child determines car seat rules. For example, if your child is under four years old, you must use a rear-facing car seat.
The front-facing requirement changes when your child is at least 15 pounds and two years old, while you need to use a booster seat for kids between the ages of 4 and 8.
1 Year Old
In Louisiana, children under one should be in a rear-facing car seat. The best option for this age is a convertible car seat, which can be used both rear-facing and forward-facing.
2 Year Old
Booster seats are meant for children at least four years old and weighing at least 40 lbs. A child who is two years old can be switched to a forward-facing car seat.
It’s important to know that it’s illegal to use a booster seat with any child under five (this includes three-year-olds).
3 Year Old
This is when most children can transition to using a lap/shoulder belt instead of a booster seat. But they will still need a booster until they reach 4 feet 9 inches tall.
4 Year Old
Children who are four years old and weigh more than 80 pounds can use either a belt-positioning booster seat or a regular adult seat belt if they can sit properly with the lap belt low over the hips and shoulder belt across the chest.
They should never share an adult seat belt with another person (even if they’re not wearing a car seat).
5 Year Old
Children who are five years old need to be in a booster seat.
An adult-sized seat belt does not fit properly across their chest, so you should install the seat belt on the lowest setting and use the shoulder strap.
Ensure your child’s knees bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle’s seat when their feet are placed flat on the floorboard.
6 Year Old
A 6-year-old cannot ride in a car without buckling up in an adult lap/shoulder belt or a booster seat.
They must remain in this restraint system till 4’9” in height or 12 years of age. (Whichever comes first).
7 – 9 Year Old
Children between 7 and 9 years old can ride in either an adult lap/shoulder belt or a booster seat (though not both).
They must remain in these restraints till 12 years old and 4’9″ tall (whichever comes first).
10 Year Old
In Louisiana, the car seat requirements for a 10-year-old are the same as those for a 9-year-old.
A 10-year-old must use a booster seat till they are 4’9″ tall. If your child is over 4’9″, you can use an adult belt if it fits them correctly.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Louisiana
In Louisiana, car seat manufacturers are required to test each model of car seat for a weight range between 20 lbs. and 65 lbs.
Car seats must have a belt guide to help position the shoulder belt across the middle of their chest and not across their neck or face.
The seat should also have a high back, between 19 and 26 inches tall, to support its head and torso when they lean forward.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Louisiana
These laws are in place to protect children from injury and death in the event of an accident.
Parents must ensure that their children are securely buckled up in their safety seats. Louisiana has different seat requirements for each age group.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
These are recommended for children who weigh less than 20 pounds and whose legs do not reach the seat cushion when seated on their buttocks with both feet flat on the floorboard or footrests (if equipped).
Children who use rear-facing seats must remain in this position until they reach a height of at least 1 inch above the top harness slot (for convertible seat models) or 2 inches above.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
Children who weigh between 22 lbs. and 40 lbs. but are older than four years old must use forward-facing car seats when traveling in vehicles with five or more passengers (for example, a van).
3. Booster Seat
In Louisiana, all children must be secured in a car seat or booster till they are eight years old and weigh at least 80 pounds.
Children who are too small for an adult seat belt are required to ride in a child safety seat appropriate for their age and height.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Louisiana?
In Louisiana, children must ride in a car seat till they are at least eight years old or as tall as 4’9″.
But there is an exception! If you have a child who is at least 4’9″ tall and weighs more than 80 pounds, he or she can sit in the front seat if all the following conditions are met.
The driver has a valid license, there’s no law against it in your state (like California) and your vehicle has safety belts for all passengers.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Louisiana?
In Louisiana, leaving a child less than two years of age unattended in a car is illegal.
If you leave your child unattended, even if they are buckled into a car seat, you can be charged with child endangerment.
If you are found guilty of this crime, you could face up to 15 days in prison or a $100 fine, with the judge having the option to suspend your driver’s license for one year and order community service.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Louisiana
Taxi companies in Louisiana are required by law to provide car seats for children under six years old if they’re available on your route, and if possible, they will try their best to accommodate requests for car seats from other passengers as well.
However, if you are traveling with more than one child under six, there may be an additional charge for this service.
Louisiana Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
In Louisiana, all children under age eight must be in an appropriate car seat. For example, if the child is under two years old, they are required to be in a rear-facing car seat.
While children who are between 2 and 4 years old are required to be in a forward-facing car seat equipped with a well-fitting harness, whereas children who are over four years old must use a booster seat till they reach the maximum height and weight limits for their seats.
If you’re involved in an accident, and your child does not meet these requirements, you may be charged with negligence or endangerment.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Louisiana
Uber drivers must ensure children under eight use a car seat or booster seats. You are responsible for providing a car seat for your child to use while riding with Uber drivers.
Drivers will not drive any vehicle unless all passengers are properly restrained by their seat belts during the trip.
Louisiana car seat laws are a little bit complicated and hard to understand, but they’re important to know to help protect your child from injury and even death in an accident.
But they also remind parents and caregivers that their children are precious cargo that should be protected at all costs.
You should always follow the manual when it comes to installing your car seat and the regulations and guidelines set forth by the government.
I hope this article proved to be fruitful for you.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.