As responsible human beings, we must look after our children, and for that matter, certain laws have been established to ensure that people are keeping their children safe and not taking any risks when it comes to the safety of their children.
Car seat laws in Kansas are slightly tricky, but if you pay enough attention, they are easy to get the hang of and pretty useful.
Children under 1 are to be kept in a rear-facing seat, children 2-3 shall use the rear seat as well unless they are over 20 pounds of weight.
And children above four just below 40 pounds shall use a booster seat until they grow over 40 pounds and a height over 4 feet and 9 inches, and by the age of 10, they can sit without any extra seating arrangements.
If you were not familiar with these and knew nothing about them, you have come to the right place, have a go at this article, and you’ll learn everything you need to know about the rules and regulations of this place.
Table of Contents
- 1 Kansas Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Kansas
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Kansas
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Kansas?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Kansas?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Kansas
- 7 Kansas Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Kansas
- 9 Conclusion
Kansas Car Seat Requirements By Ages
Normally these seating requirements are set for children of age 1 and onwards up until the age of 13 when they can eventually move up to using a normal seat.
The requirements have been categorically broken down into age brackets for ease of mind and quick access to information.
1 Year Old
If your child is 1 year old, they should be kept in the rear seat. It should be made sure that they are well secured. This seat is the safest option for them and children in general.
2 Year Old
2 year olds shall use the rear-facing seating system as well, as it continues to be the most reliable option for them.
3 Year Old
3 year olds shall be seated in the rear seating arrangements until they are over 20 pounds of weight and outgrow the seat.
4 Year Old
Once your child outgrows the rear seat and gets up to 4, they can move on and opt for the front-facing booster seat.
These sorts of seats already come equipped with a multiple harness system; it is recommended to use a 5-point harness system as it is considered the safest option for children.
5 Year Old
Regardless of them being 5 years old, they shall continue using the front-facing booster seat. The safety harness system ensures their protection.
6 Year Old
Once your child is 6 years of age, they shall continue to use the booster seat that will be front-facing and comes with a harness system for added safety.
7 – 9 Year Old
The child shall remain in the booster seat unless they outgrow the seat.
Generally, if they are above 4 feet and 9 inches, they can sit without using a booster seat, given that their weight is above 40 pounds.
Or they can also stop using a booster seat if they are above 80 pounds and have only the lap seat belt.
If they do not meet the said requirements, they will continue using the booster seat until and unless they meet the requirements stated.
10 Year Old
Booster seats are no longer required after your child reaches the age of ten and are above 4 feet and 9 inches, exceeding 40 pounds.
Instead, use a proper seat belt and sit in the car’s back seat. In some cases, they might have to use the booster seat and the regular seat belt in conjunction if needed.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Kansas
If a child is below 20 pounds and below 4 feet and 9 inches, they shall use the rear-facing seat until they grow out of it by age 3, ideally.
They shall continue using the booster seat when they are in the height bracket of 4 feet and 9 inches and between 40 pounds of weight.
As soon as they grow out of it, they shall start using the regular seat preinstalled in the car.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Kansas
There are various types of seating laws. As already discussed, certain requirements are set for age brackets. Therefore the laws related to them are slightly different.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
These seats are ideally used for children under the age of 3 and around 20 pounds of weight, these seats are the safest for children in that age bracket, and it is generally recommended that you should keep your child in that seat as long as possible, until or unless they grow out of it or do not feel comfortable in it anymore.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
These seats are the next stage after the rear-facing ones; your child will now face front. They come with harness systems and would keep your child well secured.
They must be used appropriately and ensure that they are not too tight for the child to feel discomfort.
3. Booster Seat
These seats are simply seats that boost the child upwards and help them sit upright without any added apparent protection.
Though they are safer for them to use unless they grow enough to use a normal seat, these seats help them get the idea of the rear seating system and keep them properly secured until they can shift to a normal regular seat.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Kansas?
All children below or at the age of 12 must remain seated at the back, along with proper care of the already existing safety precautions such as belts or, as previously discussed, seats about the age and height of the child.
They will be allowed to sit in front of you when they reach the age of 14, though it is still recommended that the child be seated at the back regardless of their age to be safe from any unforeseen mishap.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Kansas?
It is illegal to leave a child below the age of 8 for more than 15 minutes while the car’s engine is running, except when the vehicle is being loaded or unloaded.
The punishment could vary; however, you will be finned and charged with risking the safety and well-being of a child.
Therefore it is extremely important to note that one must never leave their child unsupervised in a car and leave for errands as it might have extremely bad effects on the mental health of a child in the form of distress as well as their life.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Kansas
The law has stated that all vehicle operators shall use a child restraining system regarding travel, which applies to Taxi’s as-well.
However, it has not been specified if they should provide the restraints or not. Therefore the parents at hand should bring their seats for their children for a safer trip.
Kansas Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
There are no laws that would be able to help you get a replacement for the seat in case of an accident.
All that can be done is to replace them on your own in case of a crash, as they might be damaged internally.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Kansas
Vehicle operators should use a restraining child seat; therefore, even in an Uber, you have to bring your rear-facing seat or your booster seat for the safety of your child.
The laws regarding the operators providing you that seat are uncertain. Therefore, it is ideally the safest bet to bring your seat whenever possible for a comfortable trip.
Now that you’ve read this article, you should have a firm understanding of the rules and regulations that have been set for the seating arrangements that pertain to the area of Kansas.
While they might be a hassle, these laws have been created to keep you and your child safe.
Kansas car seat laws have been formulated so that the citizens, as well as people traveling there, would be safe along with their children, as they are fragile and require the best care and protection that they can get; therefore, these strict laws have to be held in place, to keep children safe.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.