It is important to note that the laws set by the state of Delaware are for the welfare of its people. This ensures their security and safety, so it is advised to follow them.
Car seat laws in Delaware are a bit different than in other states.
They have very specific rules about the proper placement of children in vehicles, including their age and weight, the type of seat they should use, and where they should sit.
For example, it is mandatory for children up to 8 years or 65 pounds, whichever comes first, to be restrained in a car seat.
You should take your time to shift your child to the next car seat.
State residents may already be aware of these regulations, but outsiders may not. So, I would advise that you read through this article in a wholehearted manner. Let’s get started!
Table of Contents
- 1 Delaware Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Delaware
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Delaware
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Delaware?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Delaware?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Delaware
- 7 Delaware Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Delaware
- 9 Conclusion
Delaware Car Seat Requirements By Ages
As with other states, the law changes for kids as they grow up.
This is why there are separate sections that will help you understand the rules regarding that age range.
1 Year Old
Delaware car seat rule requires children younger than one year to be in a rear-facing car seat.
The seat must be in the back seat of the vehicle, and it must be facing backward. This is the safest position for a child’s spine, neck, and head to be positioned when they are in a car.
2 Year Old
The Delaware code requires that children under two years of age be placed in a rear-facing car seat. This makes them much safer in the event of a collision.
3 Year Old
The same law applies to children at the age of three too.
Unless they have crossed the weight or height limit, they should be kept in a rear-facing car seat for as long as possible, as it is the safest of all options.
4 Year Old
The transition to a forward-facing car seat can be made at 4.
Most children have already met the requirements for using such seats, such as reaching adequate height and weight. A forward-facing seat is the safest option for kids of this age.
5 Year Old
Delaware law for a five-year-old is the same.
Unless the child has grown out of the seat, which is highly unlikely at this stage, he or she should be kept in the forward-facing one. There is no point in transitioning to a booster seat.
6 Year Old
The age four to six years old children have the same laws. If you visit the State of Delaware Website, they have listed one law for this age range.
So, if your child has reached the age of six, you should keep them in a forward-facing car seat for some time more.
7 – 9 Year Old
Finally comes the stage of transition. Children start to outgrow their forward-facing car seats when they reach the age of 7.
It is still recommended to keep them in it for as long as possible, but if the weight and height limit has been reached, then a booster seat must be installed.
10 Year Old
The above law has been designed for children up to 12 years of age. So, if you have a child that is ten or even 11 years old, he/she should travel in a booster seat.
He/she can be transitioned to a normal car seat only when the age or weight limit has been reached.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Delaware
In Delaware, the maximum weight requirement for a child to utilize a booster seat is 65 pounds.
This is in addition to the maximum height requirement of 57 inches.
Children should be shifted to a booster seat only when they are done with the seat which is forward facing.
The minimum weight requirement for a child to utilize a forward-facing car seat is when they reach the absolute limit of a rear-facing car seat.
This maximum is anywhere between 60 and 90 pounds. The height should be one inch below the extreme top of the seat.
The maximum weight requirement for a child to utilize a rear-facing seat is 40 pounds.
These limits are important to remember as not following them can lead to charges being filed against you.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Delaware
Although every car seat has its own recommended limits, you should adhere to the ones that have been set by the state, which in this case is Delaware.
Here I will be discussing some rules regarding the three-car seat types.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
Rear-facing seats are for babies who weigh less than 40 pounds.
You should make sure to use it for as long as possible. Your baby must use a rear-facing seat until they outgrow it at around four.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
Forward-facing seats are for babies who weigh 20 pounds or more but less than 40 pounds.
Your baby must use a forward-facing seat until they outgrow it at around the age of seven because this type of seat keeps them safe in case of an accident by limiting the amount of space they take up inside the vehicle.
3. Booster Seat
Booster seats are for children who weigh 40 pounds or more and are between 40 and 57 inches tall.
Booster seats make it easier for children to see out of the window and give them a better view of their surroundings.
If your child meets the requirements, you should use a booster seat if you have one available.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Delaware?
You can’t always tell when your child is ready to sit in the front seat of a vehicle. It’s not something that happens overnight, and many factors contribute to the decision.
The state of Delaware has not specified anything regarding this, but if you keep in mind their law for booster seats, it becomes clear that children should be at least 12 years old before sitting in the normal seat of any vehicle.
If you’re driving with other children who are younger than ten years old, you’ll want to make sure they’re properly restrained as well—even if they’re sitting in their car seats or booster seats—and that they only sit in the back seat until they turn ten years old.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Delaware?
No law says you can’t leave your kid in a car in Delaware. But don’t risk it! If you ever feel like you need to leave your child in the car for any reason, here are some things to keep in mind:
- Make sure there’s enough air circulation. If you’re worried about the heat, open the windows and turn on the fans.
- Ensure your child is not strapped into a seat belt or safety seat before leaving them alone in the car.
- Ensure your child is supervised at all times—even if they’re just sitting in the backseat watching cartoons on their phone.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Delaware
In Delaware, there are no laws regarding taxi car seats. However, if you’re traveling with small children, we recommend bringing your car seat or booster seat.
If you’ve got a baby or toddler, it’s also a good idea to bring a travel crib or playpen so they can sleep safely while you’re on the road.
Delaware Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
Delaware does not have any laws or regulations regarding accidents and car seats. So, if you seek compensation from the state, you should bring proof and be eligible for it.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Delaware
Just like with taxis, there is no car seat laws established for Uber.
So, there is a good chance that you may not find a car with a child seat installed. You should have a portable seat handy, as it is needed for taking your child on any vehicle.
In conclusion, Delaware car seat laws are designed to protect the lives of its citizens. The laws and rules are in place to ensure that children are adequately protected during a car accident.
The state understands how important it is for families to be able to stay safe on their journeys, and they want to ensure that these journeys are as safe as possible.
There is no denying that these rules are lacking a lot, especially compared to other states. But they sure are better than nothing.
You should try to follow them, or else you may be looking at expensive fines to be paid.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.