If you are ever driving a car or are a passenger in one and have a child with you, it is your responsibility to ensure that the child is protected in the event of a crash or simply does not fall in the car and injure themselves.
Car seat laws in Arizona begin for children immediately and require young infants to be placed in a rear facing car seat when traveling in a vehicle.
Once your child weighs more than 20 pounds, you can start to use a front facing car seat.
If your child exceeds the limits of this seat, then you will have to switch to a booster seat which they are required to use until they are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall, upon which they can start using the car seat belts.
I will be talking about all of these laws, where they are applicable, and what you should expect when trying to implement them for your child.
Table of Contents
- 1 Arizona Car Seat Requirements By Ages
- 2 Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Arizona
- 3 Type Of Car Seat Laws In Arizona
- 4 When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Arizona?
- 5 What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Arizona?
- 6 Taxi Car Seat Laws In Arizona
- 7 Arizona Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
- 8 Uber Car Seat Laws In Arizona
- 9 Conclusion
Arizona Car Seat Requirements By Ages
As mentioned above, Arizona has specific rules for children at certain ages.
Regardless of how old the child is, they must abide by these laws, and it is your job as parents and guardians of these children to ensure they follow them.
1 Year Old
You must use a front-facing car seat if your child is one year old.
This is because front-facing car seats are the most optimal way to travel with small infants as they cannot support themselves on normal car seats, and in the event they recline, they do not fall and can simply stay on the car seat.
2 Year Old
As the child approaches his second birthday, he/she may become heavier and taller, and at this point, you should start considering the possibility of having them shift to a forward-facing car seat.
If they are still below 40 pounds, it is best to hold off on this plan.
3 Year Old
Children three years old can most likely support themselves now and sit properly, which means that you should shift them to a front-facing car seat.
This is necessary as they will probably break the limits of a rear-facing car seat.
4 Year Old
While this is relatively still an early age, your child could have the height necessary to transition to a regular booster seat.
However, for the most part, you should try and adjust the front-facing car seat for your four-year-old and make sure that it has a harness system that is calibrated for them.
5 Year Old
The same rules for four-year-olds apply to 5 years olds as well if you are living in the state of Arizona.
Here, it is more likely for your child to transition to a booster seat which is why you should keep track of their height and weight and the limits set by the state.
6 Year Old
As your child approaches 6, you will probably have them transition to a booster seat.
You are required to use this booster seat until the child reaches age 15 or if they hit the height required to transition from a booster seat.
7 – 9 Year Old
The same concept applies here as it does to children that are six years old. They should already be in a booster seat, and if not, you should make the switch.
They will stay in that seat until they reach the height of 4 feet 9 inches, in which case they can stop using the seat entirely.
10 Year Old
If your ten-year-old child is over 5 feet 9 inches, they no longer have to use a booster seat.
Instead, you can have them regularly sit on the back and even the front seat of the car as long as you make sure that they use a seat belt as it is required for all passengers in the vehicle.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Arizona
If you are having trouble keeping track of all the weight and height requirements that have been stated above, I will give a quick run-down in this part of the article.
For infants who weigh below 40 pounds, you have to ensure they use a rear-facing car seat.
Once they pass the 40-pound weight limit, you can have them switch to a front-facing car seat.
Once the child reaches the maximum limit of the forward-facing car seat, you can have them use a booster seat which they will use until they reach or cross the height of 4 feet and 9 inches, after which they do not have to use the booster seat and can rely on the adult seat belts in the car.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Arizona
There are three main types of car seats that the state of Arizona has highlighted when it comes to the laws related to car seats.
The usage of these seats will change based on the child’s age and height/weight, so you will have to keep track of all of this.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
Arizona has children aged two and below legally required to use a rear-facing car seat as they cannot support themselves to sit properly at this age.
If you are not doing so, you may be liable for a fine and may be endangering your child.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
The state and various experts have determined that children aged between 2 and 7 can and must use a forward-facing car seat.
This will overlap with the booster seat’s ages; however, the height will vary from child to child. You are required to have a working harness system as well.
3. Booster Seat
Booster seats are required for children aged between 4 and 12. As long as your child is below 4 feet and 9 inches, they have to use a booster seat as per state law.
Once the child crosses this height, they can stop using seats entirely and use the seat belts available in the car.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Arizona?
Arizona has not set any requirements when it comes to when and at what age your child can sit in the front seat.
I recommend having the child sit in the front only when you think they are ready to do so and when they can use an adult seat belt.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Arizona?
A lot of states have various punishments when it comes to child neglect and other forms of endangerment.
This is especially so when you see their rules on leaving your children unintended in cars and other vehicles.
There is, however, no law in Arizona that has to leave your child in a car, an illegal act that means you can do this without any legal repercussions.
However, this does not mean you should, as it can easily endanger your child.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Arizona
The state of Arizona has made it a legal requirement that your child must be in their specific car seat regardless of whether you own the vehicle or not.
You will have to bring your booster seat when riding a taxi.
A taxi driver is not required to provide you with a car seat which is why it is in your best interest to have a portable and easy-to-transport booster seat.
Arizona Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
The state of Arizona has not made any laws when it comes to car seats being involved in accidents. You are not legally obligated to replace in the event of a crash.
Regardless, you should replace your car seats in the event of a crash as they are only good for surviving a one-car crash.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Arizona
The same laws which apply to taxis apply to Uber as well. You are required to use a booster seat when you are traveling in a car with your child.
You will need to bring your booster seat as the Uber driver will likely not have one, so make sure it is easy to move and install.
Arizona car seat laws are very relaxed when it boils down to the nitty-gritty.
Your children need constant protection when they are in a car, and the various rules and regulations mentioned in this article help you ensure that your child survives in the event of a crash and does not sustain any injuries.
You should not be able to fully understand and implement the rules set by the state of Arizona and get the best booster seat specific to the age, height, and weight of your child so that they can travel safely and comfortably in the car.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.