There are numerous benefits to having your automobile’s windows tinted, including UV safety, decreased glare, diluted heat, increased privacy, and overall aesthetics.
In 1993, the state of Louisiana enacted car window tinting legislation.
Before getting your vehicle windows tinted, make sure you are fully mindful of the legislation and any additional rules and regulations that apply in the state you reside.
Louisiana window tint laws imply that your windshield of the vehicle must use non-reflective tint, and it should be more than the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
The tinting rules are different for various car types, so you need to learn about the rules before deciding on doing so.
In this article, I will be discussing the tint darkness allowed on your vehicle in Louisiana so you can choose the right shade.
Read this article until the end because I will also include a frequently asked questions portion to help you understand better.
Table of Contents
- 1 How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In Louisiana?
- 2 Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- 3 Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In Louisiana
- 4 Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
- 5 Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In Louisiana
- 6 Cost Of Car Window Tint In Louisiana
- 7 Frequently Asked Questions
- 8 Conclusion
How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In Louisiana?
The probability of sun that the window tint coating authorizes passing through the automobile windows is known as Visible Light Transmission (VLT).
When it gets to tinting your windows, Louisiana has a variety of formal phrases that can be used.
The quantity of light that can flow and pass through your window film and the glass in Louisiana differs depending on whether you have a passenger vehicle or a multi-purpose automobile.
Here I will be discussing the different tint darkness levels for various vehicle types so you can choose wisely.
Tint Darkness Limit For SUVs And Vans
You need to learn about the tint dusk limits for SUVs and vans to choose the right shade for your vehicle.
The windshield of the vehicles must use non-reflective tint, which should be more than the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Moreover, it should be 6″ on the top of the windshield. Coming over to the front seat side windows, you need to ensure the light should come in more than 40 percent or so.
Other than that, the back seat side windows and the rear windows of your automobile can use any dark level, which is a pretty good thing because you can also get privacy and make your vehicle look great at the same time.
Tint Darkness Limit For Sedans
Besides the SUVs and vans, many people are also interested in knowing about the tint darkness limit for sedans.
According to the law, read this section to find out how much darker you should go on each window.
1. Front Windshield
Over the AS-1 line and on the top 5 inches, non-reflective tinting is permitted on the windshield.
2. Front Seat Side Windows
More than 40 percent light should get inside the vehicle from the front seat side windows.
3. Rear Window
The rear windows of a sedan should be getting more than 12 percent of light inside the vehicle.
4. Back Seat Side Windows
The back seat side windows of the sedans should be higher than 25 percent so the light can get into the vehicle.
Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- Tinting your automobile windows can help you reflect the light coming inside your vehicle while also blocking heat and glare. However, certain rules in Louisiana limit the amount of reflectivity on automobile windows.
- The front seat side windows for sedans, SUVs, and vans should be more than 20 percent reflective.
- The back seat side windows must also be more than 20 percent for SUVs, vans, and sedans.
- You can tint your windows using any color; however, only make sure to avoid using the colors red and amber, as they are illegal in Louisiana.
Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In Louisiana
In Louisiana, you are eligible to receive a medical exception from the window tinting requirement.
However, you need to keep in mind that you can only earn a medical exemption affidavit if you suffer from conditions such as albinism, lupus, porphyria, and photophobia.
Other than that, someone who is a convict of crimes and drugs, then they are not eligible for the medical exemption at all.
The driver should get formal documentation by contacting an optometrist and a physician mentioning the extraordinary window procedure or appealing medical requirements.
You should also need to know that a replica of the letter should always be kept in the vehicle to show it to the police officers if you ever get pulled over by them due to tinting your windows.
Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
To show that one is medically exempt from the window tint law, the driver must be able to display this sticker on the automobile.
It is also important for you to note that if you retain a medical exemption sticker, your spouse and any member of your family may be able to drive the automobile.
Just display the stickers inside on the top side of the driver’s door jamb.
Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In Louisiana
Some additional rules and regulations must be followed in the state of Louisiana. Read until the end to have a better understanding.
- There are said to be no restrictions on any vehicle’s side mirrors.
- You cannot use the color red and amber in the state of Louisiana, but any other color is fine.
- The film that you plan on using in your vehicle should be certified. Make sure to confirm it with the seller before purchasing.
- If you want people to recognize your tinting is legal, you need to have stickers on the vehicle between the film and glass, mainly on the side of the driver’s window.
- Medical exemptions, which would enable you to utilize a specific color, are not permitted under Louisiana law.
- The first infraction will cost you $150, the second will cost you $250, and the third will cost you $350.
Now that you know the rules and regulations, you can make the right decisions and always follow the rules to stay away from trouble.
Cost Of Car Window Tint In Louisiana
In popularity, the expense varies; for representative, a fundamental tint for a sedan vehicle utilizing conventional film can sum up to a lighter amount of $150 per vehicle.
Assume, however, that you wish for an increased end film, for example, ceramic window tint. In that representative, the cost per vehicle might be as high as $400.
However, you must know that everything here, of course, is conditional on a combination of aspects, to name, multiple windows, the category of tint, and verification.
A “Do It Yourself” tint gear is also a less costly option for competent tinting employment, commonly amounting to less than $100.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is 15% Tint Legal In Louisiana?
15% tint is said to be not legal in Louisiana. You can only use non-reflective tint for your windshield in Louisiana.
The front side should be 40% or more, the back side should be 25%, and the rear window should be above 12%.
Q2. Are 5% Tints Legal In Louisiana?
No, 5% tints are said to be not legal in Louisiana. This is mainly because it can be way too dark and cause you trouble in Louisiana.
Q3. Is Limo Tint Legal In Louisiana?
No, Limo tint is not legal in Louisiana because it is a dark shade that will affect the visibility when you drive on the road.
Q4. Can I Get Pulled Over For Tint In Louisiana?
Yes, you can get pulled over for tint in Louisiana if you are not following the law. You can also get a ticket that can cost a lot or maybe just end up getting a warning ticket.
Q5. How Much Is A Tint Ticket In Louisiana?
A $150 ticket is issued for the first violation. In Louisiana, a second ticket for unauthorized window tint is $250.
A third offense will result in a $350 fine, which will also apply to any following offenses.
Now that you know the Louisiana tint laws, you will not have trouble on the road while driving if you follow them accordingly.
Some people are still oblivious to the laws and, as a result, end up paying a lot of fines.
If you do not want to be stopped by authorities, then make sure that you respect the laws set in Louisiana.
Whether you own an SUV, van, or a sedan, you can check the darkness limit and how much light should come inside the vehicle.
Other than that, I have also included extra rules and regulations and so much more to help you have proper insight into the laws.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.