Connecticut became the 24th state to implement a window tinting ordinance in 1994. Tinting provides some secrecy and adds a sleek and intriguing aesthetic to the room.
It is worth mentioning that this may be a fun personalization for any vehicle, how much room you tint.
The Connecticut window tint laws permit you to tint the windshield over the AS-1 line and the front and rear side windows to a maximum of 65 percent blackness.
The window tint’s precise locale varies, but it’s normally simply a few inches.
Now that you’re aware of Connecticut window tint laws, it is preferable if you continue reading this post to learn more in-depth.
I’ve also added a frequently asked questions section with answers to the most common inquiries, so be sure to look through that.
Table of Contents
- 1 How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In Connecticut?
- 2 Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- 3 Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In Connecticut
- 4 Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
- 5 Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In Connecticut
- 6 Cost Of Car Window Tint In Connecticut
- 7 Frequently Asked Questions
- 8 Conclusion
How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In Connecticut?
The percentage of VLT, also known as visible light transmission, describes how much light is allowed to pass through the vehicle windows when a window tint is used. A lawful limit exists in every state.
In Connecticut, the quantity of light authorized to enter through the film and glass is extremely particular to the state. It differs for Passenger Vehicles as well as Multi-Purpose Vehicles.
Tint Darkness Limit For SUVs And Vans
When it comes to the tint darkness limit on the Sports Utility Vehicle or SUVs and vans, you must know the laws so you can make the right decisions for your vehicle.
The limits are similar to the sedans, but there are still some changes that you must be aware of.
For the windshield of the SUVs and vans, the non-reflective tint is authorized to be more than the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
At the same time, the front side windows should permit extra than 35 percent of light inside the vehicle.
And when it comes to the backside windows and the rear windows, it is said that any darkness is entitled to be utilized, which is a great thing because you would not have to spend extra time and money worrying about certain windows.
Tint Darkness Limit For Sedans
Now, if you are someone who has a sedan, then the tint darkness limit and the rules are said to be different from the SUVs as well as vans.
1. Front Seat Side Windows
Starting with the front seat side windows, it is said that more than 27 percent VLT of light should be authorized inside.
2. Front Windshield
Coming over to the front windshield, it is said that the non-reflective tint must be of 70 percent VLT but mainly on the top of four inches of the windshield of your sedan.
3. Rear Window
Moving towards the rear windows now, the VLT is also similar to the front seat side windows, which should be more than 27 percent so the light can get inside the sedan easily.
4. Back Seat Side Windows
Lastly, the back seat side windows also have the same VLT authorization as the rear window and the front seat side window, which is more than 27 percent.
You must keep in mind that the laws for multi-purpose vehicles in this matter will be different.
Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- Keep in mind that Connecticut window tint law authorizes a specific quantity of window reflection when employing a tint, so keep that in mind as well.
- The laws in Connecticut specify that the reflection on all vehicles such as SUVs, vans, and sedans should not be above 21 percent reflective at all. Keep in mind that this is only for the front aspect windows.
- On the other hand, the laws in Connecticut also specify that the reflection on all sedans, vans, and SUVs should not be above 27 percent reflective. And this is said to apply only to the backside windows.
- There is no prohibition against colors in Connecticut regarding tinting the windows. However, gray, bronze, and green will be the best colors.
Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In Connecticut
In Connecticut, any driver who has a medical exemption is allowed to tint their automobile windows to whatever extent.
To qualify for this exemption, you need to obtain a note from your doctor stating that you require window tinting for medicinal reasons.
Your name, date of birth, and the particular purpose for tinting your windows must all be included in the letter.
You must have this information with you when driving and display it to an officer if asked.
The procedure for obtaining a medical window tint exemption in Connecticut is straightforward: The exemption form for window tint is.
You are only required to visit the doctor and obtain a statement indicating that the dark tint is required for medicinal purposes.
Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
If a medical condition arises requiring a tint of between 32 percent and not less than 20 percent, the individual must fill out a medical exemption request.
This form must be kept in the vehicle at all times. You must remember that exempted automobiles will not have submission stickers applied to their windows.
You can also carry the statement to the restricted motor vehicle office, where you will be issued an exemption sticker to display on the vehicle.
Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In Connecticut
Connecticut takes automobile window tinting very seriously.
Even if you want to make a modest darkening, you must adhere to various criteria and keep a particular proportion of glow on each glass. You’ll have a lot of rules to follow.
Here are some other rules and regulations that you must abide by in Connecticut:
- If your back window is tinted, you’ll need dual side mirrors.
- There happen to be no window tint colors that are expressly forbidden.
- Light transmission tolerance of 3 percent is allowed under state law.
- The film that is sold in Connecticut must be certified by the maker. Ensure that your dealer is utilizing certified film by checking with them.
- Each tinted window must have a tag identifying permissible tinting between the film and the glass.
- Medical exemptions of more than 20 percent VLT tint films are allowed under Connecticut law.
- A fine may be imposed if you violate Connecticut’s window tint law. You could even have your automobile detained if you don’t cure the tinting. Your driving record and infractions determine the exact amount.
These are all the additional rules and regulations that you must remember and follow, so you do not end up paying fines.
Cost Of Car Window Tint In Connecticut
When it comes to tinting, prices can fluctuate from film to film.
For instance, a normal masterpiece film for a sedan will cost you $150 to $200. And if you want something unique, for instance, ceramic tints, you’ll have to spend at least $400.
You can also acquire a “DIY” tint gear if you do not retain the funds to have the tinting done properly. It’ll cost you around $100. It is a pretty great deal.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is 15% Tint Legal In Connecticut?
15% tint is not allowed on vehicles. For windshields, it is said that non-reflective tint must be authorized more than the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Q2. Are 5% Tints Legal In Connecticut?
5% tints are only legal on the rear windows of a vehicle in Connecticut. Remember that it is certainly not legal for front-side windows and back-side windows.
Q3. Is Limo Tint Legal In Connecticut?
Limo tint is not legal in Connecticut. This is because 5% is a dark shade, and Connecticut allows you 35% of VLT for both front-side and back-side windows.
Q4. Can I Get Pulled Over For Tint In Connecticut?
If cops think that the tint is extra darker than the legal limit, they have the authority to stop you. To estimate tint darkness, they can utilize a visible light transmission meter.
You might also be given a warning if this is your first violation. On the other hand, a second offense will result in a ticket.
Q5. How Much Is A Tint Ticket In Connecticut?
A tint ticket in Connecticut can be more than $300, also containing an extra $10 charge.
Finally, if you’re thinking about getting your automobile tinted, you should be mindful of Connecticut tint laws.
While there are some limitations, the usefulness of window tinting outweighs the inconvenience of adhering to the rules.
I hope this article helped you broaden your knowledge about the laws for window tinting in Connecticut.
Just make sure to follow these legal rules and regulations and have all the required documents in your vehicle all the time so you do not get caught in problems and end up getting tickets and paying fines because the tickets can be quite pricey.
I am Tahir Azam, and I have been writing amazing articles for TaxiHack for as long as I can remember. I know everything that is to know when it comes to automobiles and is always on top of industry news and developments. While I am not an expert by any means, I pride myself on knowing the ins and outs of many different problems and, of course, their solutions. The articles on our website are some of the best and well-researched content that you will find, and I spend countless hours making sure this remains to be true. This is why I ask you to take your time out and read some of my articles, especially if you find a topic that resonates with you or is something you are looking into. This way, you will find the perfect mix of information and tips on your desired topic. Learn more about Tahir.